ITS FRIDAY!

It’s Friday!! Yay! That means the weekend! So, Tonight I did not cook anything new because it is one of my great friends late graduation/birthday parties. For dinner I just had some delicious leftovers, but I did not want to leave anyone without another delicious recipe to try or add to their menu! So, the night after my knee surgery I thought I would make a crockpot bbq pulled pork stuffed sweet potato. This would be a great hardy meal for me to eat while taking all those medicines and recovering. I do not do well with any type of medicine especially all those pain pills, they literally make me faint! Needless to say I only take things if I am absolutely dying, so I took 2 pain pills total and then I stuck to my ice, and natural healing. I hope everyone has a great, fun, and safe weekend! Enjoy some yummy food! Let me know what some of your favorite foods are and favorite things to cook are!

BBQ Pulled Pork in the Crockpot

get a 3-5 pound boston butt or pork shoulder (the size will depend on whats available at your market and how big of an appetite your family has)
put together this mix of dry rub in a bowl and then rub it all over!
2Tablespoons Garlic powder
2Tablespoons Onion powder
2Tablespoons Cumin
2 Tablespoons Coriander
2 Tablepoons dried oregano
2 Tablespoons Pepper
1 Tablespoon of salt
Then cut several slits into the meat and stuff them with fresh garlic cloves, I did about 4 garlic cloves in mine
next place the seasoned pork shoulder into your crockpot with the fatty side on top, then cover the prok with chicken broth
cook on slow for 6-8 hours

with about an hour left in the crockpot preheat the oven to 400 degrees F, wash your sweet potatoes (or regular russet potatoes if you eat those) take a little bit of olive oil and rub it on the outsides of the potatoes, next place them on a baking sheet to prevent drippings from burning on the bottom of your oven, and cook for 45 minutes to and hour judge by feel, the skins should be a little crispy and the insides squishy!

Take the Pork out of the crockpot or simply drain the broth, use a fork to shred the pork and then take your favorite BBQ sauce and mix it all together, using as much or as little as you want. Cut an opening into the potato and push the sides together creating a nice nest for the pork, stuff those babies full of meat!

As a side I just made a fresh salad with mixed supergreens, cherry tomatoes, avocado, celery, and tessemaes zesty ranch dressing (I will be putting a link to this website soon, it is amazing! if you can’t wait just put it into google, you can’t go wrong!!)

Yum! Yum! Yum!

20130125-191423.jpg

6 thoughts on “ITS FRIDAY!

  1. Pingback: 100 Advocare Recipes » jenny collier blog

  2. Pingback: 100 AdvoCare Recipes | 242fit's Blog

  3. Pingback: Six week healthy meal plan with free printable grocery lists

  4. Pingback: 24 Day Challenge Recipes - Advo4Change

Leave a Reply

