Paleo apple pie

Last week I decided that apple pie sounded delicious! So I set out for some yummy recipes to look at and try and come up with my own yummy concoction that fits all of my dietary needs. It turned out pretty dang yummy but I don’t think this is a recipe for just anyone. I mean lets get real if you can have the real thing this just doesn’t compare!! But for those that have restrictions this little beauty turned out perfect!

For the crust
A pinch of salt
1 cup coconut flour
2 Tablespoons shredded coconut
1 tablespoon honey
3 Eggs
1/4 cup butter ( i used coconut butter)
pinch of salt

put into a bowl and combine, then line your baking pan with the crust

For the Filling
5 apples cut into bite sized pieces
2/3 cup coconut sugar
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon clove ground
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg ( I didn’t have any so I left it out, but it still came out great!)
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 Tablespoons coconut oil

Mix in a bowl and put directly on top of the crust then bake at for 350 for 50 minutes

20130206-193149.jpg

Leave a Reply

