What do you do on a Saturday night!?

What a beautiful day it was today! The sun was shining and it was 68 degrees outside with hardly any wind at all!

I recently had a knee scope done on my right knee just about a week ago, so I couldn’t really go on a long run or bike ride so I decided to do a 10 minute slow walk and a 10 minute slow bike ride with my two gorgeous labs! I also did my physical therapy exercise plus 50 push ups! Whew after being out a week it sure shows even in the little things!!

Then I decided I was going to grill my dinner and enjoy the evening on my back porch swing with my dogs in tow just waiting for me to drop a shrimp on the ground so they could gobble it up. What a relaxing evening and a beautiful sunset, just a perfect way to spend my evening enjoying the outdoors, cooking a scrumptious dinner, and spending some time with my pups.

I like things a little bit spicy, ok a lot spicy! So tonight I made two different types of shrimp, a spicy shrimp, and a sweet shrimp. O and I have a huge family so when I cook I cook for an army, you can always scale recipes to fit your household needs.

Spicy shrimp
2 pounds raw, peeled, deveined shrimp
Cayenne pepper to taste
Salt
Pepper to taste
Chili powder to taste
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice

I mixed everything up in a ziplock bag and let it marinate in the fridge for about an hour. Then I put them on a skewer, fired up the grill, and grilled!

Sweet shrimp
2 pounds shrimp, peeled, raw, and deveined
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 teaspoons smoked paprika
2 tablespoons garlic
2 teaspoons Italian seasoning blend
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 teaspoons dried basil
2 tablespoons coconut sugar

The same method as above. Sit, relax, read a book, play soccer with the dog, or just enjoy nature!

So I decided to make a shrimp salad, I took an organic lettuce mixture of chard, kale, spinach, and arugula. I topped it with a handful of each type of shrimp, half an avocado, a handful of grape tomatoes, and a drizzle of lemonette tessemaes gluten free, vegan, sugar free dressing (deliciousness in a bottle)!

Happy Saturday 🙂

20130119-203457.jpg

Leave a comment